Rimmel wake me up foundation review. The Twilight effect. 

Rimmel wake me up anti-fatigue foundation
Skin brighteing
Vit C
SPF 15
100 ivory
.£8.99.

 So this product had been on my wish list for ages, probably as long as I have been blogging, I have seen peeps rave about this foundation, that its their holy grail base, they cannot live without it. But other products had always stolen my attention with their dupe claims or for being the same price as a walnut whip.

At £8.99 its a mid price foundation for me, I know some say that its a cheapie but seriously I have found base that’s so cheap but is far better than the leading retailers.

I took the plunge and here’s what I found. 

 

 I really like the packaging. The orange cap makes it easy to find in my drawer on those half 4 starts and being one of my favourite colours makes me feel a little bit chirpier. The bottle is glass and has Rimmel embossed on the side of the glass which I’m not sure is necessary. A nice touch but if they could knock a pound off the price by not doing it, I’d be rather pleased. The bottle contains one fluid oz, or 30 ml if thats easier to work out. Underneath the cap is a bright orange, wait for it, pump.

 PREACH!

 Finally some decent pump action is happening up in here. Take notice Estée Lauder!
One pump released a decent amount and overall I was really pleased with the packaging. 

 

 There is rather distinct smell to this formula and I actually really like it, it kinda reminds me of hand soap and smells really clean to apply.

The formula is rather thick and viscous for a liquid foundation and if I was to tip my hand upside down like so, it wouldn’t run off.

 

  One pump of foundation covered half of my face comfortably and I would describe the product as medium coverage but it is easily buildable if required.
On weeks like this when my skin is having a bit of temper tantrum, its nice to know that I can add a little bit more product on to achieve higher coverage without appearing cakey.

The finish in my opinion was satin as although luminous it did cover imperfections and blemishes well.

Here’s a shot of how you can build up the coverage. 

  

 Whilst on the topic of luminosity, Rimmel claims that this foundation visibly awakens the skin and illuminates with a radiant glow and a flawless finish.
I have to say that I was rather chuffed with this foundation until I went for a pub lunch with my old man.
We were sat by the window and it was a beautiful day and could have easily passed for summer. He said to me rather bewildered, whats on your hand?
I looked down and my hand looked like a glitter ball. I had no clue and was confused myself.
He took my chin and turned my face and said to me “Why do you look like a christmas tree” Now he’s used to highlighter and knows what my face should look like, Glitter on my face is not a good look.
I put my brain in gear and worked out that the glitter particles on my hand were from the foundation I was wearing, “Wake me up” I looked in a mirror and I looked like Bella from Twilight glistening away. I tried to take a picture but it couldn’t convey onto camera. I managed to get a shot of my hand and this is what it looked like. 

 

  Now I like luminous and dewy but that was a step to far. As soon as I was out of the window space Porter said to me that my face looked normal again (what a charmer) and I have to agree my face looked fine. I hadn’t plastered it on, I hadn’t worn a different primer. There was no explanation other than the fact that in this foundation there are particles that under harsh light (such as direct sunlight or stage lights) will turn you into a glitter ball.

It’s such a shame as I was prepared to love this foundation, it didn’t cling to any of my dry patches around my nostrils, it lasted for hours, It completed all the jobs a good foundation should. It seems a shame to not get any use out of this but I do have to make you aware that I would not recommend this as a summer foundation or if you work on stage.
Due to its low SPF of 15 this in my opinion would be a great night shift foundation or night out base. Due to its luminosity and vitamin moisturising complex I would recommend this for those who have dry to normal skin.
Its anti-fatigue and would keep you looking fresh for hours on end. There would be no harsh lighting for you to turn into a twilight character. The product is buildable and can cover all sorts of blemishes on your skin that you may have from being run down.

 Rimmel seriously needs to sort out its cak range of colours however, 6 shades and their version of ivory was still to dark for me in all honesty. I tend to use this when I am wearing tinted moisturiser due to it being so dark. So not for you if you are fair skinned or anything darker than natural beige.

 I am guessing about 60% of UK woman would not be able to match their shade in this selection. That is my opinion only but its a travesty that in 2015 a leading cosmetic company believes that there is no demand for their products from women paler than “Ivory” or anyone darker than “natural beige”

All in all a good high street/drugstore foundation but with a few tweaks it could be perfect. 

 I hoped this helped 

 Lots of love 

 Clo

xx

2 thoughts on “Rimmel wake me up foundation review. The Twilight effect. 

  1. I like this foundation and never had any glitter ball moments but I admit too that Ivory is still a little too dark for me – such a shame they don’t do anything lighter as I love the texture and how it wears. Just for info for people reading your great review… Wilkinsons sale Rimmel products and all for under £5 – including this foundation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

