Matte is back! Rimmel stay matte liquid mousse foundation review.

Rimmel stay matte liquid mousse foundation
Price £5.99
1 fl oz 30ml

Hey everybody!

I have a slight obsession with all things matte. I have recently ran out of my HG (Holy Grail) foundation and with me being on a Spending Ban, I can’t just run out and replace.
So I started using a foundation that I got for Christmas that has been sat abandoned whilst I distracted myself with sparkly eye shadow and nail decals.

Enter Rimmel Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation.

The packaging is anything but inspiring, shaped like a tube of toothpaste, I could understand how it would be easy to walk past this product. The good thing about the tube is that you can lop the top off with some scissors meaning you can get every last shred of product. The colours used are bland and it looks like a half arsed attempt at branding.

The shade selection is also minimal, I think there is about 6-8 and the stay matte powders don’t correspond which is laaaaame but things do improve.

So the first thing to say about this formula is a little goes a hella long way. The product is extremely thick to the touch and is really easy to apply. I found this was a dream for my stippling brush as it wasn’t absorbed into the brush but you can use your fingers if thats what you prefer.

It applies really smoothly and there is no scent to the formula. The product isn’t buildable however due to its thickness, too many layers and it can become cakey. This means that you will have to blend really quickly due to how fast it sets.

I can not see any sun protection mentioned on this product which is a double edged sword. Obviously sun protection is super important and I always advocate wearing it. The issue with SPF is that it can reflect light in photos. This can cause your face to appear ghostly in photographs. So this product is great for photographing and nights out when you will be using a flash but not for day time use.

The coverage is medium to full and I found it worked really well at evening out my skin tone. The product lasts all day and I found it smoothed out my skin and minimised the appearance of pores. My face appeared Matte which is ultimately the aim with this product. I would suggest that this is a formula that should be used in the evening due to the lack of SPF, the increased chance of flash photography and the flawless finish.

Heres a shot of how thick it is

2015/01/img_4850.jpg

It claims to be feather light where as I found it quite thick. My skin did feel silky smooth and I found it comfortable to wear. I did find it quite heavy but not at all greasy.

All in all a good foundation for the price if you can match your skin tone
So I hope you found this helpful. If you like the product reviews, let me know or if you want more tutorials/challenges put your thoughts in the comments.

Lots of love

Clo

Xx

12 thoughts on “Matte is back! Rimmel stay matte liquid mousse foundation review.

  1. I know too well the predicament of running out of a HG product and not being able to repurchase thanks to #SpendingBan … I’m literally scrimping on everything that I love just in case. Haha! #firstworldproblems

    I don’t really do matte foundations but there’s something so dinky and appealing about the packaging of this line. Also, super cheap. Great review. So if Rimmel has bothered to create one for my skin colour, then its added to the wish list 😉

    Sal xxx | UmmBaby

    Like

Leave a Reply

